eXtension webinar series begins -The Case for Supporting Entrepreneurs in a Jobless Recovery

Thursday, September 8, 2011 – The Case for Supporting Entrepreneurs in a Jobless Recovery – 2:00pm (ET); 1:00pm (CT); 12:00pm (MT); 11:00am (PT)

To join the webinar click on https://connect.extension.iastate.edu/etc-cop
The eXtension Entrepreneurship webinar series opens with a special presentation for our colleagues and partners struggling during these tough economic times. Our topic will be The Case for Supporting Entrepreneurs in a Jobless Recovery.  Join Dr. Stepan Goetz, Director of the Northeast Regional Center for Rural Development for an informative session on where the research points in supporting the communities we work in. More than ever before, expectations are high that entrepreneurs can serve as engines of economic growth in local economies.  Yet the scientific research base documenting the local economic impacts of smaller entrepreneurs remains weak, and organizations such as The Kauffman Foundation are promoting billion-dollar businesses rather than smaller operations to rekindle economic growth.  This presentation provides a user-friendly state of the art review of the most recent research on the roles of small, locally-owned businesses and the self-employed in local and regional economic growth.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s